Chartered Financial Analyst

It is a postgraduate professional certification offered internationally by the American-based CFA Institute to investment and financial professionals. The CFA Program is designed to equip you with the kind of expertise and real-world skills in investment analysis that will help you advance your career. The CFA Program is a three-part exam that tests the fundamentals of investment tools, valuing assets, portfolio management, and wealth planning. The CFA Program is typically completed by those with backgrounds in finance, accounting, economics, or business. CFA Institute has transitioned all CFA exams to computer-based testing. Following is the exam pattern of CFA-:


To be eligible to apply for The CFA® Program, you must hold a passport and one of the following:

Meet one of the following enrolment requirement:

  • Bachelor’s Degree

Complete a bachelor’s program or equivalent program and have received a degree from the college/university.

  • Student in Final Year

Your selected exam window must be 11 months or fewer before your graduation month for your bachelor’s degree or equivalent program. Understand that you must complete your degree program prior to the date of sitting your Level II exam.

  • Professional Work Experience

Have a combination of 4,000 hours of work experience and/or higher education that was acquired over a minimum of three sequential years and achieved by the date of registering for the Level I exam. 

Subjects which student need to study

Quantitative Methods
Financial Reporting And Analysis
Corporate Finance
Equity Investments
Fixed Income
Alternative Investments
Portfolio Management

CFA Level I Exam:

This is the first examination that students will have to go through. In level one, students will have to focus on the concepts and tools that are applied to investment management and valuation.

The Level 1 CFA exam is conducted in two sessions, each 2 hours 15 min long. It consists of 180 multiple-choice questions in two sessions of 90 questions each. 

CFA Level II Exam:

This is the second examination that students will have to go through after passing the CFA® level I Exam. In Level II, students will have to deal with the assets valuation. Students must have the ability to apply the concepts and tools that they have learned in level I.

There are total of 88 MCQs, split into two sessions. The total number of questions in the CFA Level II exam is 88. The duration of the exam is 4.5 hours. 

CFA Level III Exam:

This is the last CFA exam that students will have to pass to become CFA charter holders. In the level 3 examination, students will have to go through portfolio management in depth. CFA® Level I and CFA® Level II revolved around basic financial knowledge, investment valuation comprehension, and the application of both. CFA Level III exam focuses on portfolio management and wealth planning.

The exam format of CFA Level III is a mix of item set questions and essay-type questions. The duration of the exam is 4.5 hours long and is written in two sessions. The morning session and the evening session.

Job Opportunities :

A Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) can expect an average starting salary of 3,92,500. The highest salaries can exceed 16,00,000Some of the top Employers looking specifically for CFA are JP Morgan Chase and Co. (JPMC), United Bank of Scotland (UBS), Royal Bank of Scotland (RBS), HSBC, Wells Fargo, Citi Group, Morgan Stanley, HDFC, Kotak Mahindra, ICICI, Barclays, Bloomberg, Carlyle Group, Blackstone, Goldman Sachs, Fidelity, Deloitte, EY, KPMG, PWC, Standard Chartered, Jefferies,  Bluecrest Capital These are some of the top firms that recruit CFA Charter holders and anywhere between 1% to 6% of the entire workforce in these organizations are a CFA.  

for more information, please visit CFA official website. Click here

if you are looking for the top institute that provides training for CFA, we have compared the different institute on the basis of training hours, fees, mode of training, etc, Click here for more details



Open chat